

Charter Water West Advisory Committee

Charter Number:	1.53		
Category:	Governance	Classification	Public
First Issued/Approved:	20 May 2015		
Review Frequency:	After General Election every 4 years		
Last Reviewed:	30/11/2022		
Next Reviewed:	November 2026		
Responsible Officer:	Manager Administration & Finance		
Applicable Legislation:	Local Government Act 1999		
Relevant Policies:			
Related Procedures:			
Established on:	20/5/15		

1. Committee Name

The name of the Committee shall be the District Council of Ceduna Water West Advisory Committee (hereinafter called 'the Committee).

2. Establishment

The District Council of Ceduna Water West Advisory Committee is a Committee established by the District Council of Ceduna (hereinafter called 'the Council') pursuant to Section 41 of the Local Government Act, 1999 (hereinafter referred to as 'the Act').

3. Purpose for which the Committee is established

The Committee is charged with the responsibility to disseminate information to the users of the scheme and to provide recommendations to Council in relation to general operation and improving efficiencies of the Water West Scheme.

4. Functions

The function of the Committee shall include, but not be limited to the following, in pursuance of the above purposes:

- 4.1. To carry out any research, investigation, survey or inquiry relative to existing or proposed services, facilities or amenities within the ambit of the Committee purposes.
- 4.2. To review plans in relation to the purposes of the Committee.
- 4.3. To liaise and consult with persons, groups and organisations in relation to issues as needs that arise.
- 4.4. To provide feedback on annual business plans in relation to the Water West Scheme.

5. Membership

5.1. The Committee shall consist of up to eight (8) members, who shall be nominated by the respective organisations and appointed by Council as follows:

- a) Two (2) Councillors appointed by Council.
- b) One (1) nominee of Denial Bay Progress Association;
- c) One (1) nominee from Penong;
- d) One (1) nominee of Koonibba Aboriginal Community Council;
- e) One (1) nominee of Charra Agricultural Bureau;
- f) One (1) nominee from the general public non user of the Water West Scheme;
- g) One (1) nominee from the general public –user of the Water West Scheme;
- 5.2. Any person appointed pursuant to sub clause 5.1 hereof shall be appointed for a term of four (4) years to coincide with the Council's general elections or other such term determined by the Council.
- 5.3. Any person appointed pursuant to sub clause 5.1 hereof shall cease to hold office if the organisation they have been nominated by goes into recess or is wound up or dissolved in accordance with the provisions of the Associations Incorporation Act 1985.
- 5.4. Provided, however, that upon any person appointed pursuant to sub clause 5.1 hereof ceasing to hold office, a further person nominated by the respective organisation shall be appointed by Council to fill the casual vacancy for the balance of the term of the person so ceasing to hold office.

6. Register of Interest

The provisions of Chapter 5; Part 4; Division 2 of the Local Government Act, 1999 shall not apply to members of the Committee.

7. Presiding Member

- 7.1. The Committee shall appoint a Presiding Member to be chosen by the members of the Committee from amongst their own number and shall hold office for such term as may be determined by the Committee.
- 7.2. The Presiding Member shall preside at all meetings of the Committee and in the event of the Presiding Member being absent from a meeting, the members present shall appoint a member who shall preside for that meeting or until the Presiding Member is present.

8. Duties of the Presiding Member

The Presiding Member shall –

- 8.1. Call all meetings of the Committee in accordance with Clause 9;
- 8.2. Preside at all meetings of the Committee at which he or she is present and preserve order there at so that the business may be conducted in due form and with propriety;
- 8.3. Upon confirmation of the minutes sign them in the presence of the meeting.

9. Calling of Meetings

- 9.1. The Members of the Committee shall meet at least once per annum.
- 9.2. The Presiding Member may convene a special meeting of the Committee at his or her own volition and shall convene a meeting upon the written demand of at least two (2) member of the Committee.
- 9.3. Subject to the provisions of sub-clause (9.4) hereof, notice of every meeting shall be given in writing to every member at least three (3) days prior to such meeting. Notice shall be deemed to have been given a day following posting, or delivery of such notice. The notice shall contain the date, time and place of the meeting and the business to be transacted thereat.
- 9.4. The Presiding Member may call a special meeting of the Committee at any time provided that notice of such meeting shall be given to all members at least four (4) hours before the commencement of the meeting.

10. Quorum

No business shall be transacted at a meeting of the Committee unless Four (4) members are present.

11. Proceedings of Meetings

The meeting procedures of the Committee shall be in accordance with the provisions of the Local Government (Procedures at Meetings) Regulations 2000.

12. Secretary

The Manager Administration & Finance (or their nominee) shall be the Secretary of the Committee.

13. Meeting Minutes

The Committee shall present copies of their meeting minutes to the Council for information and consideration.

14. Direction by Council

The Committee is subject to the direction and control of the Council. A direction given by the Council must be in writing.

15. Amendments, Alterations and Additions to Rules

These rules may be amended, altered or added to by a resolution of the Council made pursuant to Schedule 2 clause 3(5) of the Local Government Act, 1999.